St. Nicholas Allotment Group (SNAG)

Constitution

1. Name

1.1 The name of the Association is the St. Nicholas Allotment Group (SNAG)

2. Objective

The objective of the Association is to:

- 2.1 manage the St. Nicholas Allotment Site on behalf of Faversham Town Council (the owners) under the terms of a Management Agreement dated [to be inserted]; maintain members and waiting lists; let plots; and collect rents to be applied to the routine maintenance of the allotments
- 2.2 promote the interests of allotment holders and to take joint action for the benefit of members
- 2.3 co-operate with any committee set up by government, local authorities or other bodies, to further the interests of allotment holders
- 2.4 co-operate with any committee, local authority, national or local body set up to provide seeds, potatoes, tools etc for allotment holders
- 2.5 take whatever steps are required by the local authority for the good management and cultivation of allotment gardens
- 2.6 protect members from damage, trespass or theft where ever possible
- 2.7 arrange social events for the enjoyment of members
- 2.8 co-operate with other gardening associations in matters of mutual interest

3. Membership

- 3.1 The Association shall consist of every person who has entered into a plot Tenancy Agreement with SNAG for the letting of an allotment plot and whose current rental is not in arrears
- 3.2 A member of the Association shall be entitled to vote at general meetings. A member who rents more than one plot shall not be entitled to more than one vote
- 3.3 A person who works a plot with a member shall be entitled to Associate Membership of SNAG provided they pay the annual *National Society of Allotment and Leisure Gardeners Ltd* (NSALG) membership subscription and insurance. An associate member cannot vote at a general meeting but may sit as a member on the Management Committee of the Association

4. Powers and Duties of the Management Committee

- 4.1 The Committee shall conduct the affairs of the Association. It shall consist of a Chairperson, Treasurer, Secretary and up to three other general members. All members of the Committee must be members or associate members of NSALG
- 4.2 The Committee must retire at the Annual General Meeting ("AGM") and shall be eligible for re-election
- 4.3 The Committee may fill any casual vacancies when necessary and such members shall hold office until the next AGM
- 4.4 A quorum shall be no fewer than three members
- 4.5 The Committee shall meet at least four times a year
- 4.6 The Committee may delegate particular tasks to a member of the Association, but any such delegate shall not then be a member of the Committee

St. Nicholas Allotment Group (SNAG) Constitution

- 4.7 The Committee shall be responsible for:
 - i. conducting negotiations with the Faversham Town Council for the use of St. Nicholas Allotments;
 - ii. entering into an allotment site Management Agreement with Faversham Town Council;
 - iii. ensuring compliance with the terms of the Management Agreement with Faversham Town Council;
 - iv. the letting of individual plots, the setting and collection of rents and any other levies which may be necessary from time to time; and
 - v. ensuring compliance with the plot Tenancy Agreement
- 4.8 The Committee may authorise payments for works or materials necessary for the maintenance of the site, subject to obtaining approval at a general meeting before incurring any major expenditure. Major expenditure means a sum of £500 or more or such other figure as shall be agreed by the Association at a general meeting

5. General Meetings

- 5.1 The AGM shall be held no later than 31 October each year
- 5.2 A quorum shall be ten members for any general meeting
- 5.3 At the AGM:
 - i. The Chairperson's report for the previous year ended 31 March shall be submitted for approval
 - ii. Accounts shall be presented
 - iii. A person who is not a Committee member shall be appointed to independently examine the accounts
- 5.4 Special general meetings may be called by the Committee, or upon the request, in writing to the Secretary, or at least five members
- 5.5 Members shall have fourteen days' notice, in writing, of all general meetings
- 5.6 In the absence of the Chairperson, those present shall elect a Chairperson from their number to conduct that meeting

6. Decisions at Committee and General Meetings

- 6.1 Committee business shall be decided by a majority of those present. In the event of equal votes, the Chairperson shall have the casting vote
- 6.2 At general meetings, resolutions shall be passed by a majority of voting members present. An associate member may vote in the place of a principal plot holder at an AGM. In the event of equal votes, the Chairperson shall have the casting vote
- 6.3 Postal and Proxy votes shall not be allowed unless there is a proposed major change to the Constitution of the Association

7. Bank Account

7.1 The Committee shall open a bank account in the name of the Association. The signatories shall be the Treasurer and two other management committee members and all cheques must be signed by at least two of the three signatories

St. Nicholas Allotment Group (SNAG) Constitution

8. Accounts

- 8.1 The treasurer shall record day to day transactions and prepare annual accounts for each financial year ended 31 March
- 8.2 There shall be appointed an Independent Examiner, who is not a member of the Committee, to review the accounts and submit a Report to the AGM

9. Amendment to the Constitution

9.1 The Constitution may be varied from time to time by resolution of the members at a general meeting. However, no change may be proposed for consideration which would be contrary to clause 4.7(ii) of the Constitution relating to compliance with the terms of the Management Agreement with Faversham Town Council

10. Termination of the Association

10.1 On cessation of the Association, for whatever reason, any monies remaining after payment of all expenses, outstanding debts and claims, shall be distributed equally amongst the current members who have held plot Tenancy Agreements for at least one year, and whose rental is not in arrears

Signed: Kayti Elysee (Chair of the Management Committee)

Date: 10 March 2020